Home Page About Us Articles Videos Contact Us Feedback

Video Categories

About Us

Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) The space activities in the country were initiated with the setting up of Indian National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR) in 1962. In the same year, the work on Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) near Thiruvananthapuram was also started. Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was established in August 1969. Government of India constituted the Space Commission and established the Department of Space (DOS) in June 1972 and brought ISRO under DOS in September 1972.

Department of Space (DOS) has the primary responsibility of promoting the development of space science, technology and applications towards achieving self-reliance and facilitating in all round development of the nation.

Towards creating awareness about country’s space programme and providing video programmes related to ISRO, Space, Science and School and Engineering, the 'Education Portal' has been setup. The videos hosted on the site have been generated by Development and Educational Communication Unit (DECU), Ahmedabad the unit under ISRO. DECU is mainly involved in the system definition, planning, implementation, production of educational/communication material and socio-economic research & evaluation of societal applications. It works with user agencies to experiment with innovative configurations to meet their requirements and facilitates covering of the ‘last mile’ in space applications.

DECU houses state-of-art programme production equipment and facilities like Non-Linear Editing Suites, 2D/3D Animation/Multimedia Workstations, Render farm system, Tape Library, etc. DECU produces video programmes related to ISRO/Space/Science, Education and Development/Awareness as well as other theme-based video programmes, quickies and documentaries.

Copyright 2012 ISRO, All Rights Reserved.
Best viewed with a resolution of 1024x768 with Internet Explorer 7.0